Posted by: prometheuscometh | November 9, 2009

So Excited

It was the kids’ semestral break 2 weeks ago and I took it as an opportunity to get myself used to waking up early everyday to run. Because of my spotty running schedule, I found it difficult to wake up at 5 a.m. with any sort of consistency which led to … well, a spotty running schedule. On regular schooldays, I would start my day by 6 a.m. so that I could eat breakfast, get dressed and be out of the house by 7 a.m. to take my daughter to school on time. With the kids on holiday, I could afford to leave the house at a later hour which meant my body clock could adjust gradually to an earlier wake up time. For that week, I woke up at 5:30 a.m. and ran every day!

Well almost. Jun C and I aborted a long run at the Fort on the Saturday Typhoon Santi hit the country. Despite the strong winds, the felled trees, lamp posts, and other wind strewn debris, I drove down to Bonifacio High Street and waited for Jun at the parking lot behind ROX. I could feel the car being rocked by the strong gusts of air but running during a storm was nothing new to me. When Jun arrived, I was adamant that we push through but as we cautiously made our way down 5th Avenue, we witnessed the extent of the damage and the dangers posed to us by the storm. We finally decided to turn back when we saw a a motorcycle that lost control as the wind slammed into it. The winds had gotten stronger and we could no longer run as we were met with hard rain and resistance. We used buildings to shield us momentarily from the elements until we finally made it back to our cars. Glad to have survived the tempest, we simply continued our long run the next day.

Last week, the semestral break ended. Having adapted to getting up at 5:30 a.m., I began setting the alarm 30 minutes earlier which would give me an hour to run and still be on time to bring my daughter to school. Despite the resumption of my hectic schedule, I managed to run again almost every day.

It feels good to settle back into a familiar rhythm and within a week or so I am ready to dive right into a new training program.

Leave a Reply

Categories

